Skip to main content

ukactive has announced 30 new appointments to its Member Council groups as it develops its Governance structure to ensure it remains fully representative of the membership.

The newly appointed members take the total representatives within ukactive’s Councils up to 70 members. These members represent more than 2,000 sites, as well as some of the most established suppliers within the sector which collectively support thousands of operators across the UK.

Previously, ukactive’s overarching Membership Council was supported by two sub-councils – ‘Independent Gym Operators’ and the ‘Wider Activity Forum’.

The new Governance structure means that the overarching Member Council is now supported by six sub-council groups within ukactive, each consisting of up to 12 representatives from across the physical activity sector. The overarching Member Council is now made up of the Chair from each of the six sub-groups.

The new groups and nominated Chairs:

  • Private Operator Council – chaired by Dave Courteen, Managing Director at Mosaic Group
  • Public Operator Council – chaired by Peter Bundey, CEO of GLL
  • Independent Operator Council – chaired by Jean-Claude Vacassin, Managing Director of Foundry
  • Supplier Council – chaired by Sarah Watts, Founder and CEO of Alliance Leisure
  • Wider Activity Forum – chaired by Andrew Denton, Chair of the Outdoor Industries Association
  • Standards and Legislation Committee – chaired by Caleb Brown, Head of Health and Safety at David Lloyd Leisure.

Each group is responsible for representing the voice of ukactive’s members to accurately inform and support its strategic milestones as part of the Vision 2030 strategy.

Thirty new high-calibre individuals (listed below) have been appointed to the Member Council groups, with representatives from some of the leading operators, suppliers and partners across the sector.

These appointments were made following an extensive nominations process, with voting opening to ukactive members from 11 March to 22 March, where over 8,000 votes were cast across all of the Council groups.

The newly appointed representatives met for their first quarterly meetings at the start of the new financial year, and they will continue to meet in-person every quarter to discuss sector intelligence, risks and opportunities facing the sector, and the wider landscape for growth.

Danny Melling, Interim Director of Membership Experience at ukactive, said: “It’s great to welcome more key members into our Member Council groups and a huge congratulations goes to those who were voted in by our members.

“Each Council member has a key role to play in our Vision 2030 mission to get over five million more members involved in our sector and using our facilities.

“Our Councils will help to guide our strategic plans by sharing valuable feedback, insight and trends to make sure we’re collaborating at each milestone.

“We’re looking forward to seeing the contributions of each of the new Council members and the impact they’ll have in helping us to get more people, more active, more often.”

If you are a ukactive member and would like to share views or questions with the Councils, please send them by email, including the name of your representative Council in the subject line, to:

The list below shows the new members on ukactive’s Councils. To see the full list of members on all of ukactive’s Councils, click here.

Private Operator Council, new members:

  • Andrea Dearden – David Lloyd – Marketing Director
  • James Lawrence – Lifestyle Fitness – Managing Director
  • Justin Musgrove – Fitness First – CEO
  • Alun Peacock – JD Gyms – CEO
  • Paul Ramsey – 3d Leisure – Managing Director
  • John Treharne – The Gym Group – Founder & Chairman

Public Operator Council, new members:

  • Peter Bundey – GLL – CEO
  • Ben Beevers – Everyone Active – Group Development Director
  • Stuart Lockwood – Oldham Active – CEO
  • Natalie McGuire – Brimhams Active – Director of Business Development
  • Jason Stanton – Mytime Active – CEO
  • Anthony Cawley – Fusion Lifestyles – CEO
  • Jo Cherrett – Trafford Leisure – CEO
  • Andy Farr – Parkwood Leisure – Strategic Director
  • Sally Kurton – Serco – Commercial Director
  • Ivan Horsfall-Turner – Freedom Leisure – CEO
  • Vicki Kennedy – Scottish Leisure Network Group – Chair
  • Stephen Wren – Gravesham Community Leisure – Managing Director
  • Belinda Steward – Places Leisure – Managing Director

Supplier Council, new members:

  • Dave Alstead – Xplor – Commercial Director
  • Elaine Briggs – Future Fit – Chief Education and Partnership Officer
  • Craig Cocking – Life Fitness – UK Managing Director
  • Lawrence Everest – Love Recruitment – CEO
  • Tom Gozna – Bigwave Media – Director
  • Chloe Kinch – Proinsight – Director of Client Success
  • Jonathan Monks – Myzone – Director UK & Ireland
  • Alex Peacock – Leisure Labs – Founder
  • Matthew Pengelly – Matrix – Managing Director
  • Steve Scales – Gladstone – CEO
  • Dawn Tuckwell – Co-Founder – Action Group