Skip to main content

Leading figures from the worlds of physical activity and business have been revealed on the judging panel for the prestigious ukactive Awards, which take place at Active Uprising this summer.

A new multi-day celebration of physical activity, Active Uprising is heading to Manchester from 20 to 23 June, replacing the Flame Conference and Awards of previous years.

The ukactive Awards are the largest and most prestigious accolades of their kind, designed to celebrate excellence and innovation across health, wellbeing and fitness – with entrants from the public, private and community sectors, from grassroots sport to global health and fitness.

This year, the ukactive Awards nominees will have the opportunity to present in front of leaders from Nike, Sainsbury’s and the Institute of Directors, as part of the broadest panel of judges yet.

Former Olympian and celebrity trainer Greg Whyte OBE joins a stellar line-up, alongside the inspirational armed-robber-turned-endurance-athlete John McAvoy and Nikki Kirbell, UK and Ireland Wellbeing Lead at Unilever.

More than 20 high-profile judges will be assembled in one place, at one time, as all finalists get the chance to attend an exclusive “Judges’ House” event on 15 May – made possible through a new ukactive partnership with hosts WeWork, the global workspace sharing company.

For 2018, the categories have been totally revised, with the aim of recognising those who are already driving the Active Uprising agenda and celebrating regional and national success regardless of sector boundaries.

The categories have been divided into three award groups: Business Excellence, Specialist Impact and Individual Achievement.

The full judging panel includes:

  • Dan Burrows, Senior Director at Nike Global Community Impact EMEA
  • Rachel Carrington, Marketing and CR&S Manager at Sainsbury’s
  • Craig Beaumont, Head of External Affairs UK at the Federation of Small Businesses
  • John McAvoy, world record holder and endurance athlete
  • Edwin Morgan, Interim Director of Policy at the Institute of Directors
  • Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, Crossbench Peer and Chair of ukactive
  • Ian Harris, former Chief Finance Officer at David Lloyd Clubs
  • Greg Whyte OBE, former Olympian and celebrity trainer
  • Peter Kennedy, Head of Building Operations at WeWork
  • Adrian Packer CBE, CEO of CORE Education and ukactive Board Director
  • Liz Lowe, GB Sustainability Manager at Coca-Cola
  • Adam Blaze, Strategic Lead – Disability at Sport England
  • Dr Peter Bonfield OBE, CEO of the Building Research Establishment and ukactive Board Director
  • Sarah Kendall, Head of PR and Communications at Fuse Sport and ukactive Board Director
  • Tracey Proudlock, founder of Proudlock Associates and inclusion specialist
  • Davina Deniszczyc, Wellbeing Medical Director at Nuffield Health
  • Mark Sesnan, Managing Director at GLL and ukactive Board Director
  • Charles Johnson, Property Director, Sport England
  • Nikki Kirbell, UK and Ireland Wellbeing Lead at Unilever
  • Lynne Kennedy, Professor of Public Health and Nutrition
  • David Monkhouse, Change Management Consultant and an Elected Board Member Trustee of the Chartered Institute for the Management of Sport and Physical Activity
  • Steve Howell, Head Teacher, City of Birmingham School
  • Alfonso Jimenez, Professor of Exercise Science and Health at Coventry University.

CEO of ukactive Steven Ward said: “The excitement has grown following our announcement of Active Uprising in Manchester and now I am delighted we can reveal such an impressive list of judges for the highly anticipated ukactive Awards.

“It’s only right that in order to honour the best of the best in our industry, we have some of the best minds in business and physical activity from around the world joining us at Judges’ House to help select those worthy of the prize.

“When it comes to getting the nation active, there is an uprising in this country, something special is happening, with a genuine vigour and the innovation to confront the challenges inactivity brings to society.

“These awards will honour those who promote the importance of leading a healthy lifestyle and getting more people more active, more often.

“This is a chance for you to raise your profile, benchmark yourself against the best in our sector, celebrate excellence and turbo-charge morale in your organisation – we can’t wait to hear your stories of success and to help spread them far and wide.”

The Business Excellence categories are: Regional and National Club/Centre of the Year; Supplier of the Year; New Concept, Build or Design of the Year; and Workplace Wellbeing Programme of the Year.

The Specialist Impact categories are: Kids Award; Healthy Communities Award; Campaign of the Year; Inclusion and Disability Award; and Research Impact Award.

The Individual Achievement categories are: Physical Activity Champion of the Year; Outstanding Leader of the Year; Unsung Hero Award; and Personality of the Year Award.

The awards night, on 21 June at Manchester Central, will also reveal the much-coveted ukactive Outstanding Organisation of the Year Award.

The deadline for entries is 5pm on Wednesday 28 March. For more details on the process, the judges, and how to enter, visit